Berkeley Nuclear Research Center

... energy for tomorrow

Ning Li

Ning Li | Leadership | BNRC


Dr. Ning Li is a distinguished professor and Dean of School of Energy Research, Xiamen University, China, and Associate Director for International Cooperation, Berkeley Nuclear Research Center, University of California, Berkeley, USA. He is also the Director of Asia Development for TerraPower, a US company founded by Bill Gates to develop innovative nuclear energy technologies. He was formerly the Industrial Fellow for Civilian Nuclear Programs, a project leader and a technical staff member of the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and the deputy coordinator of the US DOE GNEP/AFCI US-China civilian nuclear energy cooperation.

Dr. Li has extensive R&D experiences in broad areas of nuclear energy technologies, is an international leader in heavy liquid metal nuclear coolant R&D, and a planner, leader and participant in a number of US DOE civilian nuclear energy and waste transmutation programs.

Dr. Li maintains extensive academic and international collaborations, publishes widely in leading scientific journals, and has leadership roles in technical and professional organizations. He has been a research affiliate in the Nuclear Science and Engineering Department at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, an adjunct professor and the International Programs Coordinator for the Transmutation Research Program at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, and an executive committee member of the Materials Science and Technology Division and Accelerator Applications Division of the American Nuclear Society. He has been on the technical committees, advisory boards and review panels of numerous conferences, symposia and proposal reviews, and consulted for R&D organizations, universities and companies in the US, China and other countries. Dr. Li is a recipient of the 2006 Asian American Engineer of the Year Award.

Dr. Li holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and a B.S. in physics from the University of Science and Technology of China.